We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox. Mac: Safari.
Friends who know London

Favorites (0)

Connect with friends - see if London is one of their favorites.

Can Advise Me (0)

Connect with friends - see if they have advice on London.

Been There (0)

Connect with friends - see if they've been to London.

Going There (0)

Connect with friends - see if they're going to London.

Free Newsletter

Interested in London?

We'll send you updates with the latest deals, reviews and articles for London each week.

London forum: Fraud - Apartment Rentals

TripAdvisor™ Best London Travel Deals

HolidayInn.com Promotion ends December 15. Click here and book!
Expedia.com Hurry in and Book Now. This Sale and the Summer will be Gone Before you know it.
LHW.com Use your AMEX card to receive a 15% credit at participating Leading Hotels.

Sign in / Register
 
London Forum
Search in: 

Watch This Topic Post a new topicReply to this post
 Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 19  Next>>
   Michigan
   Joined: Feb 2007
   Forum posts: 55
   Travel map pins: 58 

Posted on: 7:16 pm, April 17, 2007

I've posted information about this previously, and continue to be notified by people who have been victimized by the same fraudulent scheme.

If anyone is renting a flat in London, DO NOT rent from any party who is using the following phone numbers in their web (or other) advertising for apartment rentals:

44 703 184 8961

44 704 012 0008

The "renter" is advertising flats on several web sites and under several different names including Dave Martin and Oliver Gaines. Email addresses include texasbred (yahoo) or oliverhomes (gmail). The only constants have been the (cell) phone numbers listed above, and payment required in advance via Western Union. The advertised flats are 25 Pembridge Gardens and another in Sloane Square, although it sounds like there are other properties being offered for "rent".

For those of you renting, please be careful and try to make sure it's a legitimate rental. Posters on TALF are most knowledgeable and helpful, and are a terrific resource for London accommodations.

Reply to this post
Report as inappropriate
   Seattle
   Joined: Dec 2004
   Forum posts: 9,621
   Travel map pins: 238 

Posted on: 10:56 pm, April 17, 2007

Thanks for the info Mary.

People should also read:

tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g186338-i17-k10145…

Reply to this post
Report as inappropriate
   Boston, MA
   Joined: Apr 2007
   Forum posts: 1
   Travel map pins: 0 

Posted on: 4:19 pm, April 18, 2007

Thank you, Mary!

I just want to add that I've uncovered more names associated with the same scam. I do believe this is the same person or a group of people working together:

Richard Dominic, Terry Samuel, Oliver Gaines, Rolland Knight, Tony Johnson, Tony Joseph, Dave Martin(s), Matt Nicholas, Stephen Jack, Charles Walker, Richard Jordan, Patrick Murray, David Powell.

The email addresses they have used so far are: oliverhomes1104@hotmail.com, oliverhomes1104@gmail.com, oliverhomes1104@yahoo.com, tjrentals2003@yahoo.com, texasbred_007@yahoo.com, clergyman_gabe@yahoo.com, dave_martuk@yahoo.co.uk .

As far as I can see, the phone numbers are not limited to the two listed by above, but they do usually start with (+44) 70 ...

Another common thing about these fake listings is a VERY attractive price (62-120GBP) for expensive multi-bedroom apartments located in fashionable London areas. The description, as well as photos, of the fake property are usually stolen - fully or partially - from legitimate listings.

I also want to add, as my advice: always ask for references; don't be satisfied by email references -- ask for phone numbers and do try to call and speak to people.

Reply to this post
Report as inappropriate
   Watford
   Joined: Oct 2004
   Forum posts: 16,297
   Travel map pins: 52 

destination expert  What's this?
for London
Posted on: 5:17 pm, April 18, 2007

Do be wary of any UK phone number starting with 07 as it means it is a cellphone number and could be located anywhere in the world. The first 0 isn't dialled when calling from outside the UK.

Central London landline numbers begin with 0207 and outer London numbers with 0208 although that is no guarantee of the flat existing as phones can be diverted.

Reply to this post
Report as inappropriate
   Dunfermline, United Kingdom
   Joined: Jul 2005
   Forum posts: 4,580
   Travel map pins: 279 

dicanio10
Posted on: 6:46 pm, April 18, 2007

As Adam rightly points out, beware of numbers that start with 07, except that all UK mobile phone numbers start with 07. However, the ones that are 070 are the 'dodgy' ones.

Reply to this post
Report as inappropriate
   Well educated biter of...
   Joined: Mar 2007
   Forum posts: 132
   Travel map pins: 18 

kumiankka
Posted on: 11:01 pm, April 18, 2007

Pre paid sims, I guess?

Reply to this post
Report as inappropriate
   Malta
   Joined: Jan 2005
   Forum posts: 952
   Travel map pins: 24 

malteser
Posted on: 12:24 am, April 19, 2007

Are mobile phones in the UK registered? What I mean is, is there some way of tracing a number to a registered owner? Can this be done on-line?

Reply to this post
Report as inappropriate
   Shoreditch London
   Joined: Apr 2007
   Forum posts: 41
   Travel map pins: 1 

Posted on: 2:03 am, April 24, 2007

Are mobile phones in the UK registered?

The phones are only registered if you buy them from the mobile phone shops and if you enter into a contract. Fraudsters probably buy hese phones on eBay with a prepaid sims.

What I mean is, is there some way of tracing a number to a registered owner?

Not in cases above.

Can this be done on-line?

No - you won't be able to trace them on line either.

Reply to this post
Report as inappropriate
   San Francisco
   Joined: Jul 2005
   Forum posts: 10
   Travel map pins: 0 

Posted on: 12:52 pm, August 07, 2007

Thanks to TALF I didn't get scammed.

I know this is the same person, because when he sent me the booking form , I google searched the phone numbers and it led me here.

The "renter" now has a new name Dave Moloney and has several ads listed in C****list. The rates are very tempting.

The email he/she is now using is improvas2324 (yahoo). The "renter" did make the request of full payment prior to arriving by Western Union. I told him I was uncomfortable with that and he even assured me that he was legit. Then he continued to pressure me to book because other renters we are also interested in the dates I wanted. He even offered to pick us up at the airport free of charge. Wow, Unbelievable!

Thanks again to TALF. I almost had a very expensive lesson.

Reply to this post
Report as inappropriate
   Canada
   Joined: Apr 2006
   Forum posts: 86
   Travel map pins: 31 

Posted on: 11:07 pm, August 09, 2007

helpful!

*bump*

Reply to this post
Report as inappropriate
   Singapore
   Joined: Apr 2008
   Forum posts: 2
   Travel map pins: 0 

Posted on: 11:34 pm, April 08, 2008

Interesting posts here. It sounds very similar to a 3 bed/2 bath apartment in Mayfair, London (25 Hill Street) at a suspiciously low rent as advertised by a gentleman claiming to be called John Greene on the alwaysonvacation.com website. He too asks for full payment up front via Moneygram and offers to pick up at the airport free of charge. The contact details used here are Phone: +44 703-196-7034 Fax : +44 709-286-7064 and E-mail: BATFIELDWAS@AOL.COM. Although he will not reveal the address or details for key collection until full payment is made, the advertisement clearly states that the property is located in Hill Street. He suggests in this advertisement that you should address the moneygram payment to his agent Mr Rick Jackson at 25 Hill Street (this is in fact a commercial property housing various companies' offices). I have reported this owner and his property as suspicious to the alwaysonvacation website operators and requested a reference or notice of any complaints. I am currently awaiting a response. Anyone else had experience of this particular property?

Reply to this post
Report as inappropriate
Watch This Topic Post a new topicReply to this post
<<Return to the London forum home page 
 Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 19  Next>>

TripAdvisor™ Best London Travel Deals

HolidayInn.com Promotion ends December 15. Click here and book!
Expedia.com Hurry in and Book Now. This Sale and the Summer will be Gone Before you know it.
LHW.com Use your AMEX card to receive a 15% credit at participating Leading Hotels.